Spreading the charms of Japan to the world from Fukui



Five Lakes of Mikata

Five Lakes of Mikata is one of the most popular scenic sites in Wakasa Bay Quasi-National Park. The beauty of these lakes, which changes from season to season, has been well-known for centuries and they also appear in the ancient 'Manyoshu' poetry collection (The Anthology of Myriad Leaves). In 2005, they were registered in the Ramsar Convention as a wetlands of international importance. The five lakes are: Mikatako, Suigetsuko, Sugako, Hirugako, and Kugushiko. The waters in each exhibit differing characteristics, such as fresh, salt or brackish. As such, the species of fish in each differ, some being home to more freshwater fish, others to seawater fish.
- Excerpted from Wakasa-mikatagoko Tourism Association


As its characteristic, the lakes are surrounded by low mountains, and it is full of warm and rustic atmosphere. If you drive through “Rainbow Line” and climb to the top of Mt. Baijodake(397 meters high), you can enjoy a splendid view of the Five Lakes of Mikata.

-Excerpted from Discover Wakasa


Related video